Babywearing with Jess

Bits and bobs about breastfeeding… 

Leave a comment

It’s International Breastfeeding Week and also today was the Big Latch On, an event to celebrate that in the past I have both helped organise one event and attended others…  Today we did neither actually, but I did share a photo of myself breastfeeding Jai at a month old, in the supermarket, in a ring sling on my Facebook page with a tag supporting the cause… And the context and content of my post got me thinking… 

So many of us have this “natural, instinctive” concept of breastfeeding.. Like we will just have a baby and it all happens, without a hitch, no issues at all… Sunshine and rainbows… You know what I mean… Yet as I mentioned in my Facebook post, i actually can’t think of one mum who has never had an issue with breastfeeding… Not one who exclusively breastfed from day one till the day their baby/child self weaned… To the others who struggled and battled and then after that, many battled guilt about formula feeding… 

I’m not going to feed you a slogan, be it “breast is best” or “a fed baby is a happy baby”, nor place any judgement on what decisions individual mums make that are best for their family… I just wanted to have a realistic conversation about what it is like breastfeed…. 
It’s like, as if the life changing event of child birth isn’t enough of crazy ride, as soon as it’s done and you have the baby out, they then suck onto your boob and its like this whole life experience..  if your experience is anything like mine,  especialy first time round, it not only included pain, issues, cracked nipples, feelings of being “trapped” and so much more… 

Fortunately in my journey I haven’t yet had to battle mastitis or other similar issues which many mama’s I know have battled… Support to establish a successful breastfeeding relationship is sooo key! Someone to help feed you and bring you water in those early days is invaluable… 
Once you guys sus it, and I say you guys cause its a relationship, a team effort of mum and baby, but once you sus it, breastfeeding is such a simple way to fill your babies needs, you don’t need to do anymore than pop a boob out to comfort your baby for a large amount of the time in their first year… 
Later down the track, breastfeeding can help you soothe and settle your baby with nothing more than your body and that’s awesome… It’s convenient, easy and accessible… And a settling tool that I missed in my artillery when Josh did wean… 
My point is, it isn’t usually “sunshine and rain”, well it is in a sense, usually for most mama’s I know, breastfeeding has been a series of rain and cloudy skies, hopefully mixed with interspersed sunshine and rainbow, or hope at the end of the tunnel, in terms of struggles, is a roller coaster ride of emotions and experience… And that’s ok.
No matter how you managed to feed your baby for how every long the time period was… They are here, you did your best. For me, both my boys, despite our many issues, managed a breastfeeding relationship for a decent chunk of their infancy of which I am grateful… 

One of the last times I breastfeed Josh in July 2014 


But my over arching point is… Boobs are amazing..  Our bodies are amazing…  Though often with my rough, now toddler, I do miss the early days of breastfeeding..  With a nostalgic,  rose tinted glasses version of the actual events…. 

For so much of our lives we are conditioned and trained for our boobs to be this “sexual object”; media, culture, society… You don’t need me to rehash the rant right?! Boobs are overly sexualised and then when it comes to using them for natures intended purpose…?!  People freak out, society sometime feels like it gives a slap in the face… Luckily this stuff is changing .. Attitudes are changing but honestly… 
I can’t put it better than my first midwife,  “look love, your boobs aren’t there to make your arse look good!” hahaha 
Happy Breastfeeding Week 😂😅

Leave a Reply

