Babywearing with Jess

Emily Writes, ‘Rants in the Dark’

Leave a comment

Ok, well firstly I haven’t attempted to do a book review since it was a school requirement so don’t expect literary genius from me here and as advanced warning I am probably totally not following whatever is the appropriate ‘book review’ template requirements, but anyway…

I got the chance to go to Emily Writes book launch earlier this week for her new release, ‘Rants in the Dark’. When I got home with my copy finally in my hands, I thought I would just flick through it briefly…

parenting

 

 

I lost a few hours of time in the end and made that terrible mistake of staying up way to late to cope with kids concepts of morning time because I read it into the wee hours without realising it.

I have been known to ‘binge read’ if I get really keen on a book I may just hide and keep reading it until its over if I can! And that is exactly what happened with this book.

When I was at the launch, I not only bought myself a copy but an extra one which I got Emily to sign so I could give it away to another ‘tired mama’ out there and so I knew I wanted to write something about it and share the awesomeness with you all too.

In what I thought at the time was an inspired moment of genius I thought, “I know, I’ll book mark my favourite ‘one liners’, bits, the ‘gems’ I like most…” This was no help at all as it turns out and actually achieved not much more than using up a whole packet of book tabs and making it harder for me to work out what I wanted to say!

 

17097663_10158536261265727_8807360494976854102_o.jpg

Just a sea of book tabs of highlights… 

 

So what are my many favorite rants?

The ‘Day 3’ post birth piece, ‘Before I was a mum’ which is about that smug wisdom many of us have about how we might parent before we actually have our own kids, the ‘how to get your baby to sleep’ and ‘is your baby going through a sleep regression’ parts had me literally laughing out loud.

The In-My-Day Committee meeting minutes were also hilarious. The ‘Happy Mothers Day’ rant which suggests that one way we could celebrate this day is just end all the annoying things said to mothers, the ‘this isn’t indulgent’ part about by being responsive to our babies needs, the rant about the pressures we all feel of the evils of ‘screen time’, the ‘how not to be a jerk’ bit which featured one of my top two lines – “How about you get off my tits?” only topped by “get out of my uterus”.

It is not hard to see what has resonated in Emily’s writing. Far too much of parenting now days can feel like barrages of often conflicting advice or pressure – if only on ourselves from ourselves sometimes, to do the best we can as parents.

Emily takes a fresh, humorous and enlightened approach to relating to these real aspects without the bullshit of how to fix it. More so than that, it is uplifting, compelling and a relatable, real story of her experiences in parenting that many would enjoy.

Check out more from Emily Writes here – http://www.emilywrites.co.nz/

You can find the competition to win yourself this signed copy on my Facebook page here – Babywearing with Jess 

 

17101385_10158541501720727_2050942041_o.jpg

Leave a Reply

